Letter from the Deacon Chair - Walter Jones

On behalf of your deacons, let me wish you a very Merry Christmas and good tidings in the new year.  However, this is the January 2015 Off Broadway so it is time to look forward.

Last month we listed all of the deacons who are rolling off the active board and this month we wish to welcome the new ones.  Beginning in January, we welcome Noelle Bailey, Melissa Barman, George Coleman, Bob Johnson, Beth Kimbell, George Kipp, Sewell Long, and Dawn Stambaugh.  Their ordination and installation service will be Wednesday, January 7, at 6:10 p.m.  All are invited to attend to celebrate these individuals as they begin their service to Broadway as deacons. Say a word of thanks to each when you see them. They, like all the deacons, ask for your support and prayers as we begin a new year.

In November the deacons elected their officers for next year. George Coleman will serve as chair and Tom Wakefield will be the vice-chair.  In that capacity Tom also serves as chair of the Personnel Committee.  Ken Lundberg will be the secretary.  Donna Williams and Sharon Davis will serve as deacon coordinators.  Sharon and Donna wonderfully served in these positions in 2014 and kept us all “in line.”

Also beginning in January will be our last winter stewardship campaign. At the recommendation of consultants, we have returned to a calendar year budget and a fall stewardship campaign. However, we took these actions too late to mount a fall campaign. So, in 2015 there will be two stewardship drives. The one that begins in January is for 2015, and the fall campaign will be for 2016.  For this reason we desire that this winter campaign be quick and efficient. Our goal is to begin in the middle of January and be finished by the end of February. This can only be accomplished if everyone quickly returns their pledges to the church office, either online or on paper.  You will be hearing more about this soon, but we encourage you to prayerfully consider your pledge and act quickly once we begin. This stewardship campaign will be co-chaired by Bob Hook and Matt Washer.

Again Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

                                                                -Walter Jones